Bright and early Saturday morning, eight physicians who braved the Pulse nightclub attacks, often now called the worst day in Orlando’s history, will be honored for their work by the Florida Medical Association during the House of Delegates meeting at Disney’s Yacht and Beach Club Resort.

The award they’ll be receiving is the Harold S. Strausser M.D. Good Samaritan award. It aims to recognize “distinct acts of humanitarian service above and beyond the high standard of conduct normally expected of physicians. Recipients demonstrate love and compassion for their fellow man without concern for their own comfort, safety or welfare.”

“A remarkable team of individuals, including trauma surgeons, ER physicians, anesthesiologists, radiologists and many allied health care professionals, came together under overwhelming circumstances to treat the victims of this horrific terrorist attack,” said FMA President and Board of Governors Chairman Ralph J. Nobo Jr.

The physicians expected to accept awards are Trauma Medical Director Dr. Joseph Ibrahim, Dr. Chadwick Smith, Dr. Sandeep Mukerjee, Dr. Matthew Lube and Emergency Department Director Dr. Gary Parrish.

They will also honor Michael Cheatham, William Havron and Marc Levy, who are unable to attend the ceremony on Saturday.

The event will take place Saturday, July 30 from 8 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. at 1700 Epcot Resorts Blvd.